Multicultural Issues Committee

The Multicultural Issues Committee addresses matters of concern for faculty of color, American Indian faculty, religious minority faculty, and immigrant faculty regarding racial justice, equity, and inclusion.

It is imperative that faculty challenge systemic oppression to empower marginalized members through innovative and intentional equity and inclusion initiatives. Faculty must be empowered to lead efforts to foster learning communities that respect the inherent worth of all students, faculty, and staff based on values of justice, inclusion, and equity. We strive for equity within our union to build solidarity, and ensure that our collective voice is an inclusive voice.

Below, you will find MIC updates, a committee roster, and a comment box for you to send comments to committee leaders. 

Zhi Cliff Li.jpg

Zhe (Cliff) Li

Bemidji state University

Zhe is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Business Administration


Metropolitan state university


Minnesota State university-Mankato


Minnesota state university-Moorhead


Miguel bustamante

st. cloud state university

Miguel is a Professor in the Information Systems Department.

SMSU FA logo square for print.jpg

José Losada-Montero

Southwest Minnesota State University

José is an Assistant Professor of Spanish.


weidong zhang

winona state university

Weidong is a Professor in the Department of Global Studies and World Languages.

Kim Park Nelson.gif

Debra Leigh

st. Cloud State University

Debra is the Board Liaison to MIC and directs the Community Anti-Racism Education (C.A.R.E.) Initiative. 

Kim Park Nelson

Faculty of Color Caucus Representative


Ajay Panicker

Faculty of Color Caucus Representative

Please share your thoughts or concerns with the IFO multicultural Issues Committee by using the form below. 

Name *